top of page

The best fish & chips aren't in England... they're behind the Redwood Curtain


I love great food, whether it comes to me via a five-star fine dining establishment, a friend's kitchen, or even a food trailer parked behind a local brewery. On our last trip through northern California, we stayed a night in Arcata, and we went looking for the Redwood Curtain Brewing Company to sample their liquid wares (they were delightful). Let me emphasize the "looking" part of that statement, because if you don't know Arcata well, you will never find neither this place without GPS. But it's worth the effort to find.

In back of the brewery was the bright red trailer for the LoCo Fish Co., so we decided to stay for dinner. It was a wise decision. LoCo Fish Co. is run by a man who is, I believe (if I recall correctly) a former marine biologist who had worked locally for more than a decade before deciding it would be far better to start eating the fish than studying them. That decision works out very well for the rest of us.

We went for the special of the day - fish and chips made with fresh locally caught albacore. You might think that albacore is an odd choice for fish and chips. But these thick, moist slabs of albacore covered in panko breading, were the perfect pairing. Oh England, you've been doing it all wrong for so long. I've never had a better plate of fish and chips. Anywhere. LoCo Fish changes the fish used for fish and chips depending upon what's fresh and available locally, so when you go it could be rockfish, or halibut, or perhaps albacore...

The fish tacos also get passionate raves and look absolutely delicious. The menu varies with what's in season and freshly available. All fish served is wild, sustainable, organic, and locally sourced. And you can tell the difference. Here's one review: "I wanted to share a picture of the blackened fish tacos I ate earlier today at LoCo's Fish because it is literally worth a 1,000 words of praise, but FB won't let me... So I'll try my best to describe LoCo's fish tacos the best I can..so here I go: delicious, adorable, ambrosial, appetizing, choice, dainty, darling, delectable, delightful, delish, distinctive, divine, enjoyable, enticing, exquisite, fit for a king or queen, good, gratifying, heavenly, luscious, lush, mellow, mouthwatering, nectarous, nice, palatable, piquant, pleasant, rare, rich, sapid, savory, scrumptious, spicy, sweet, tasteful, tasty, tempting, titillating, toothsome, well-prepared, well-seasoned, yummy! If you are still reading this then I don't know why you haven't gone to to see what's behind the Redwood Curtain! I'm excited for everyone to hopefully try these tacos."

If you find yourself near Arcata craving the freshest most delicious seafood that can be washed down with delicious handcrafted ales, then follow your GPS behind the Redwood Curtain (Brewing Company) to LoCo Fish Co. for pure fish bliss.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page